top of page

Did Reality TV Just Lead Me to an Epiphany?


So, I’m just going to throw this out there now and get it out of the way. My guiltiest of guilty pleasures is watching “Love and Hip Hop.” And I don’t just watch it occasionally when it comes on...I wait for the new episode religiously every week and throughout the week you’re dang right I watch all the repeats on VH1.

For me, I’m a thinker. Most times an over-thinker, so reality television becomes my escape from reality. I know it’s fake. I know it’s staged with scenarios and actors but it’s therapeutic to remove myself from what’s going on in my life for 45 minutes while I watch the overly dramatic, most times ratchet occurrences that happen EVERY episode.

But something was different about the most recent episode…For those of you who are familiar, (don’t be ashamed) Safaree’s cousin came to LA to visit him from New York and as they’re sitting, talking about the future and women, etc. Safaree’s cousin asked a shockingly inquisitive question… I’m paraphrasing, but he asked, how can women with the fake butts, fake eyelashes, fake boobs, fake everything, expect to find a REAL man?

Woah, I know right? Mind blown!

It’s so simple but it’s true. No knock on women who choose to do some or all of these things, shoot just a few months ago, I had fake eyelashes…. But ladies, this starts with us!

Not to say that females and males shouldn't be equally respected no matter what, but we're human and might need a little push in the right direction.

Also not saying you shouldn’t want to get done up every once and a while or care about your appearance and feel absolutely beautiful. You should. But we don’t need all the extras ALL the time to be stunning and gorgeous. Let’s be comfortable being bare.

The more uncomfortable you are with your raw, untouched, unfiltered self; the more uncomfortable someone else will be with it. It all goes back to the basic mantra; “you are what you attract.” So, if you are always done up, with fake everything and a snapchat filter, what are you really attracting?

I want to challenge each of you ladies and gents to challenge other lady friends to go out for a day with no makeup…And I don’t mean just go to the grocery store and sit at home for the rest of the day. I mean get out there; go on a date, to work, to school, to a kick back au natural. I'm still new to this and believe me it wasn't easy, but I've noticed just after a few weeks how much more comfortable I am going bare more often. Try it! I promise it won't hurt...too much.


bottom of page